UKWAS review working group appointed

The UKWAS steering group is pleased to announce the appointment of a multi-chamber working group to take forward the review and, if considered necessary, the revision of the UKWAS standard. Peter Wilson is appointed as the working group’s independent chair.

This marks the final step in the run-up to the official commencement of the review process.

Peter Wilson said: “I am pleased to be leading this multi-stakeholder working group and delighted at the scope and the depth of collective knowledge and experience that the group’s members will bring to the review process. I am confident that the full range of economic, environmental and social perspectives are represented. In addition, we are gathering a small pool of technical experts upon whose knowledge the group can draw as necessary.”

The full membership of the Working Group (with nominating bodies in brackets) is as follows:

Independent Chair

  • Peter Wilson

Economic chamber

  • Amanda Calvert (Small Woods Association)
  • Ewan McIntosh (Confor)
  • Angus Mackie (Forestry & Land Scotland)
  • Stuart Wilkie (Institute of Chartered Foresters)

Environment Chamber

  • Stuart Housden (Royal Society for the Protection of Birds)
  • Andrew Sharkey (Woodland Trust)
  • Jonathan Spencer (Soil Association)

Social Chamber

  • John Deakin (National Trust)
  • Paul Nolan (Mersey Forest)
  • Maria Wilding (Llais y Goedwig)

Participating certification scheme representatives (non-voting)

  • Owen Davies (FSC UK)
  • Alun Watkins (PEFC UK)

Participating expert (non-voting)

  • UK Forestry Standard representative (tbc)